The Moveable Feast: April 2013 Literary Luncheons

Literary luncheons with authors at Grand Strand area restaurants

Since 1998, The Moveable Feast features an established or debuting author. This series of literary luncheons takes place every Friday from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at a variety of Waccamaw Neck restaurants. Founded and managed by CLASSThe Moveable Feast showcases authors selected by Litchfield Books.

 

Here are The Moveable Feast April 2013 Literary Luncheons:

 

 Salkehatchie Soup by Ken Burger

 Friday, April 5, 2013 at Inlet Affairs

Charleston’s Post and Courier columnist’s third novel doesn’t disappoint. As in his previous tales (Swallow Savannah and Sister Santee), the cast of characters includes the powerful and the pitiful, both working through the options life presents them. In his usual no-holds-barred style, Burger’s tale of the Adger family continues from cushy golf resorts to a one-hole golf course in the middle of nowhere. Along the way, even small, seemingly private lives are caught up in the politics, crime and intrigue of Washington, Manhattan and Miami. In Burger’s imagination, political bargains made in the cloakrooms of Congress impact both those who have fallen from grace and those who urgently seek it. As admirer Pat Conroy notes, “Nobody picks at the scabs of South Carolina like her native son Ken Burger.”

 

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman 

Friday, April 12, 2013 at Sea View Inn

This gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard is a remarkable debut. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora’s devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.

 

And Then I Found You by Patti Callahan Henry  

Friday, April 19, 2013 at Austin’s Ocean One Restaurant

When the mistakes have been made and the running is over, it’s time to face the truth. Kate knows this. She understands that a woman can never undo what can never be undone. Yet, for the first time in her life she also knows that she won’t fully love until she confronts those from her past. It’s time to act. Can she do it? Can she travel to the place where it all began, to the one who shares her secret? Can the lost ever become found? Giving new life to the phrase inspired by a true story, the author explores the limits of courage, and the price of a selfless act by travelling back to a painful time in her own family’s history.

 

Moon Over Edisto by Beth Webb Hart

Friday, April 26, 2013 at Kimbel’s Restaurant

Edisto Island was where it all came apart. Can the Bennett girls ever be whole again? Once, they were the happiest family under the sun, crabbing and fishing and painting on beautiful Edisto Island in South Carolina’s lowcountry. Then everything went wrong, and 20 years later the Bennett family is still in pieces. Mary Ellen still struggles to understand why her picture-perfect marriage came apart. Daughter Meg keeps a death grip on her own family, controlling her relationships at a distance. And eldest daughter, Julia, left it all behind years ago, forging a whole new life as an artist and academic in Manhattan. She’s engaged to an art dealer and has no intentions of returning to Edisto. Then an emergency forces Julia back to Edisto to care for her three young half-siblings. She grudgingly agrees to stay a week. But there’s something about Edisto that changes people. Can Julia and her fractured family somehow manage to come together again under that low-hanging Edisto moon?

 

Paid reservations for The Moveable Feast are requested by the Wednesday prior to the event. Most Feasts are $25. Reservations may be made online at www.ClassAtPawleys.com or by phone at (843) 235-9600.